The Northwest Regional Emergency Communications Board is one of seven regional Emergency Communications Boards (ECBs) and Emergency Services Boards (ESBs) in the state of Minnesota that have been established to provide local governance on matters related to emergency communications. Membership consists of 14 counties, two tribal nations, and one large city. The board’s membership includes representatives from the following entities:

·      Becker County
·      Beltrami County
·      Clearwater County
·      Clay County
·      City of Moorhead
·      Hubbard County
·      Kittson County
·      Lake of the Woods County
·      Mahnomen County
·      Marshall County
·      Norman County
·      Pennington County
·      Polk County
·      Red Lake County
·      Roseau County
·      Red Lake Nation
·      White Earth Nation


The Northwest Regional Emergency Communications Board (NWRECB) and their Advisory Committee (RAC) has a mission to improve emergency communications systems throughout the region. The NWRECB contracts with HRDC to provide services in three main areas by functioning as fiscal agent, grant coordinator, and as their meeting administrator. In the staffing package it includes the roles and responsibilities of: grant management, strategic planning, organizational development, workgroup management, and administrative functions.

The NWRECB continues to work towards interoperability across jurisdictions and increasing public safety communication systems used throughout Minnesota. They continue to secure funding through grant programs to further initiatives outlined in their strategic plan and provide a forum for technical discussions and concerns through their governance process.

2024 Meeting Schedule

Meetings are to be held on the Second Wednesday of the month for the RAC. The Board will meet every other month with the RAC. Meetings start at 10:00 AM. The PSAP Mangers group is also the first Thursday every month and starts at 10:00 AM.

When in-person meetings are approved, they are to be held at the Pennington County Board room at 141 Main Ave S, Thief River Falls. The location, date, and time is possible to be changed at the discretion of the Board. Meeting Notices are sent via email to members or posted on the public website here. Zoom Meetings are set up by HRDC staff. Please email Sarah Wilcox for meeting inquiries, swilcox@hrdc.org.
NWECB 2024 Schedule

To learn more about the services of the NW ECB,
please contact:


Jackie Pierson

Administrative Specialist